Happy Belated Birthday Creative Capital

I’ve never been good at remembering birthdays, a character flaw that’s caused me some deserved grief over the years. So it’s appropriate that I have overlooked the first birthday of this blog.

The Creative Capital blog was born on December 14, 2007–the day of my first post. Since then, over the last 16 months, I have written 292 posts and you dear readers have contributed 456 comments. You can never be too productive or prolific in the blogosphere (the monster’s appetite is unlimited) but I think that’s a decent show of effort–on both of our parts–especially for a side project that is mostly built on sweat equity.

I intended to blog for at least 6-12 months after my book came out. I guess I am still getting a kick out of it. Otherwise I wouldn’t have kept it going so long. Another reason I’ve kept feeding the blog is because it’s helped me become a better journalist. My stories are more informed thanks to the experience I’m picking up as a practicioner of what I am writing about (i.e. new media, social media, digital media, etc.). And I am also more in the flow of the digital conversation where most of the action is these days.

So I just want to say thanks to anyone who has read the blog, contributed comments or sparked up some other kind of conversation after checking it out. It has been, and continues to be, a fun ride.

Here are the top 10 most-read posts on this site all-time:

1) It’s Official: U.S. Social Networking Sites See Slow Down
2) It’s Official: Twitter Hires Ex-Google Designer Douglas Bowman
3) Part 6: Slouching Through the Great Depression
4) Sprint CEO Dan Hesse Speaks About Custom Service
5) Valley Boy: Part 1 of an Interview with VC Pioneer Thomas J. Perkins
6) Apple Update: Is Steve Jobs Sick?
7) About the blogger: Spencer E. Ante
8) 2009 Outlook from Current Master of the Universe John Paulson
9) Part 4: Slouching Through the Great Depression
10) Questioning Bernard Madoff

Leave a comment