What’s Going on at South by Southwest?

Pretty much everyone I know in tech circles is down in Austin this weekend and week for the conference extravaganza South by Southwest. I went last year to do a panel on WiFi and roll out my book and had a blast.

In fact, at least two of my colleagues this year are at SouthBy, as it is known to long-time goers: Stephen Baker and Douglas MacMillan. I haven’t yet heard of any break-out companies this year. But I am getting a feel for the conference thanks to the spadework of Doug and Steve, who today moderated a talk with FiveThirtyEight.com founder Nate Silver.

Check out the videos that Doug has been shooting down there with law professor Lawrence Lessig, Seesmic founder Loic Le Muer and Revision3 president Jim Louderback.

I can almost taste the BBQ while watching the video with Louderback at the famous meat house Stubb’s. Last year, I was starving and went to eat dinner at Stubb’s. But the restaurant was too packed to get a table. So I walked around back and scarfed down $5 beef brisket sandwich and can of beer while watching a few bands on the outdoor stage. A perfect beginning to a night at SouthBy.

Loic Le Meur from Doug MacMillan on Vimeo.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

