Where’s Spencer?

It’s been more than three months since my last blog post so you might be wondering: What happened to Spencer?

Well, the short answer is I’ve been working hard at my new day job as Deputy Bureau Chief of The Wall Street Journal, which takes up most of my working hours.

Given how busy I am at WSJ I have decided to take a temporary hiatus from regularly blogging on Creative Capital. That may change in the future but for now if you want to keep up with my work please subscribe to my Twitter feed where I post links to many if not all of my WSJ stories.

Thanks to everyone for coming by to read this blog. I started it back in 2008 to help launch my book, and then it evolved into a publishing vehicle for a broader set of stories related to the book and my work as a technology and finance journalist.

I am not sure how it will evolve going forward but I am grateful to everyone who dropped by and contributed to the conversation. Onward ….

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Where’s Spencer?”

  1. Sarah Patterson Says:

    Hello
    I represent mobile publishing company ComboApp.
    ComboApp is a leading mobile publishing company. We are launching new project and are seeking for professional freelance writers. If you hold the rights to any educational works, we may be interested in licensing your content. We have the ability to publish your work in many different formats: Kindle, I Book, Microsoft reader, On-line e-book,Learning-To-Go, ComboBook.

    We are primarily interested in authors whose materials are geared towards a wide range of certification programs. The length of the work must be at least 150 pages.

    Our partnership agreement includes licensing your content and paying a royalty based on total application sales. In this model, our success is directly tied to yours, so you can be assured we will make every effort to distribute your content to the widest audience possible. If this opportunity interests you, I encourage you to contact me with any questions you may have. I’ll be happy to provide you with additional information that details how our approach to app development can create a new revenue stream for you based on your existing content.

    Our proprietary mobile learning framework, Learning To-Go (LTG), provides a complete educational experience on the iPhone, iPad, Blackberry and other smartphone platforms. LTG integrates full course texts, interactive flashcards and comprehensive tests with an array of features that let users take control of the educational process.

    ComboApp has developed our own Learning System. We use innovative methods which are designed for individual learning. The problem is that many authors of education materials very rarely create materials with flashcards and tests, which reinforce the learning process. That is why we decided to develop a new system which would not require content with preexisting flashcards or tests. Our system analyzes the content, generating questions for students to aid in self-assessment. The primary aim of these questions are not simply to check whether a student learned the material. The MAIN AIM OF THIS SYSTEM IS TO MAKE THE STUDENT THINK about what they have read, go deep into the material and and re-read material again.

    ComboApp has developed a new revolutionary format for e-books called ComboBook. With ComboBook it is easy to read books, textbooks, manuals and virtually any other material. If you have content with tests, flashcards and questions for self-assessment, don’t hesitate to contact us. ComboBook is waiting for your content! We will publish your work faster than any other publisher!

  2. Peter Says:

    I have a short video on money raising which your fans are likely to appreciate:

    http://smartstartup.typepad.com/my_weblog/2010/11/how-to-raise-startup-capital-or-not.html

  3. Marc Weiss Says:

    Hey Spencer, just reading some WSJ coverage about the impending Verizon iPhone announcement and you were mentioned as a contributor. Googled you and found this site.

    Don’t know if you remember — you wrote a great article about Web Lab for Salon back in 1998 — http://www.salon.com/21st/feature/1998/07/27feature.html

    I see you’ve been doing some great things — the book, the gig at WSJ. Would love to fill you in on a couple of my projects, including an upcoming HBO broadcast of a film about Internet dating. Please send me a current email address and I’ll ask HBO to send you an evite for a private screening on 1/31.

    Best,
    Marc

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

